Thursday, November 25, 2010

Clockwork Angel Best of 2010



The California Chronicle has named Clockwork Angel one of 2010's top 100 books.

You can find the rest of the list here

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick


Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Pages: 427
My Rating:
Nora should have known her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described as anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away and Nora can't figure out if it's for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy, Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home.

The further Nora delves into the mystery of her father's death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim bloodline has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn't answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?



I have mixed feelings about Crescendo. I enjoyed every bit, but Nora got a little out of hands. As much as she loves Patch, she shouldn't have gone and done all those things she did. Scott made me feel a little concern, I didn't know if he was good or bad. Patch or should I saw Jev. I prefer Patch more than Jev, but it was nice to know his real name. Jev Cipriano.

I wish I could've read more funny parts from Vee, she was a good and funny character in the first. She was still funny in this, but not too much like the first.

The Black Hand, Nephilim, Fallen Angels, Archangels myth is still a little confusing in this novel. I had to read it multiple times to understand what was going on. But after re-reading it a couple times I understood it.

Overall, I enjoyed this very much and can't wait for the next book, Tempest. Especially after that ending.

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

New 'Beastly' Still



If you don't know about Beastly I will just post the book summary and cover.
I am a beast. A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog, but a horrible new creature who walks upright – a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.

You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll stay this way forever – ruined – unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and a perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly beastly.

I Am Number Four Movie Tie-In Cover


I like it because it has Alex Pettyfer on the cover.

Water for Elephants Add

Water for Elephants in amongst one of the based on book adaptation I'm dying to watch. I read the book earlier this year then finding out a film was being made. I was somewhat happy. Hopefully the movie doesn't let me down like The Time Traveler's Wife film did, as much as I agreed with the cast the film simply didn't satify me.
The Story
As a young man, Jacob Jankowski was tossed by fate onto a rickety train that was home to the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. It was the early part of the great Depression, and for Jacob, now ninety, the circus world he remembers was both his salvation and a living hell. A veterinary student just shy of a degree, he was put in charge of caring for the circus menagerie.

It was there that he met Marlena, the beautiful equestrian star married to August, the charismatic but twisted animal trainer. And he met Rosie, an untrainable elephant who was the great gray hope for this third-rate traveling show. The bond that grew among this unlikely trio was one of love and trust, and, ultimately, it was their only hope for survival.

The Dark Divine Paperback



The paperback of The Dark Divine is out today. You can go to your local bookstore and pick up your copy if you have not read it yet. Trust me, it's a good book. Also keep in mind The Lost Saint is out December 28.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Shadow Hills New Cover

After her sister Athena's tragic death, it's obvious that grief-stricken Persephone "Phe" Archer no longer belongs in Los Angeles. Hoping to make sense of her sister's sudden demise and the cryptic dreams following it, Phe abandons her bubbly LA life to attend an uptight East Coast preparatory school in Shadow Hills, MA — a school which her sister mysteriously mentioned in her last diary entry before she died.

Once there, Phe quickly realizes that something is deeply amiss in her new town. Not only does Shadow Hills' history boast an unexplained epidemic that decimated hundreds of its citizens in the 1700s, but its modern townies also seem eerily psychic, with the bizarre ability to bend metal. Even Zach — the gorgeous stranger Phe meets and immediately begins to lust after — seems as if he is hiding something serious. Phe is determined to get to the bottom of it. The longer she stays there, the more she suspects that her sister's untimely death and her own destiny are intricately linked to those who reside in Shadow Hills.


This is the paperback edition for every money saver.

Friday, November 19, 2010

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1


Harry, Ron and Hermione set out on their perilous mission to track down and destroy the secret to Voldemort's immortality and destruction -- the Horcruxes. On their own, without the guidance of their professors or the protection of Professor Dumbledore, the three friends must now rely on one another more than ever. But there are Dark Forces in their midst that threaten to tear them apart. Meanwhile, the wizarding world has become a dangerous place for all enemies of the Dark Lord. The long-feared war has begun and Voldemort's Death Eaters seize control of the Ministry of Magic and even Hogwarts, terrorizing and arresting anyone who might oppose them. But the one prize they still seek is the one most valuable to Voldemort: Harry Potter. The Chosen One has become the hunted one as the Death Eaters search for Harry with orders to bring him to Voldemort...alive. Harry's only hope is to find the Horcruxes before Voldemort finds him. But as he searches for clues, he uncovers an old and almost forgotten tale -- the legend of the Deathly Hallows. And if the legend turns out to be true, it could give Voldemort the ultimate power he seeks. Little does Harry know that his future has already been decided by his past when, on that fateful day, he became "the Boy Who Lived." No longer just a boy, Harry Potter is drawing ever closer to the task for which he has been preparing since the day he first stepped into Hogwarts: the ultimate battle with Voldemort.

I hope the Harry Potter fans are pleased with the film and are going tonight to watch it, or already did at the Midnight Premiere. I'm going to try watching it this weekend. Have a fun Friday!

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl.
Publisher: Little, Brown Books For Young Readers.
Pages: 576.
My rating:
Some secrets are life-altering…
others are life-ENDING.

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena’s family of powerful supernaturals for generations.

And now that Ethan’s eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there’s no going back.

Beautiful Creatures captivated me from the start. Supernatural elements always interest me or have an appeal to me. After reading Beutiful Creatures I couldn't wait for the sequel after the unanswered ending. Beautiful Darkness started out bit slow, for me, and it went up higher with more scenes. The new characters, Liv and John were two great characters. Though I would have liked to see more of John Breed. Liv was a great character, funny, smart, and wise.
I kept struggling with Lena at the beginning and half way through the book, I just wanted her to accept that Macon was dead, but I know she loved him too much to let him go. Link and Ethan are just fun to read when they are together. Amma and the Aunt's are just plain good characters.
Both Kami and Margaret have a talent in telling Ethan's story. I like the way they make you feel like you're in the South, with all the women going insane over a pie contest, and fair, the atmosphere of the setting. Just plain good. The five stars are well deserve!

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

New "I Am Number Four" Behind The Scenes

Alex Pettyfer and Diana Agron are the main characters of the film.



In case you missed other stuff about I Am Number Four go under the cut to find out about the book and upcoming movie in February along with Alex Pettyfer's other book adaptation, Beastly.

The Hunger Games Short Film

Even though this is a blog about books and book adaptations this goes under the category. One of the most anticipated book adaption since 2008 has been The Hunger Games. The stages of the movie process are really high. Director is unknown as of now, Nina Jacobson as producer and Billy Ray revising Suzanne Collins first script draft, the movie is well in production. Slow and steady, but good progress.
Mockingjay.net recently posted a fan video about a scene from The Hunger Games. The short 10 minute video was self directed. Mockingjay.net has recently posted an interview with the director of the film. If you're interested you can stop by there and give them positive feedback.

Here is the amazing video a lot of fans are going to be talking about.

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Blessed by Cynthia Leitich Smith

Blessed is the final instalment in Cynthia Leitich Smith's series of angels and vampire, Tantalize and Eternal.
These two books have been close to my mind and shelf for a long time. The wait for Blessed to finaly be release will be a relieve after almost 2 years of not having a new book. Plus, bringing the two set of characterfs from both books combine in one.
With a wink and a nod to Bram Stoker, bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith unites the casts of Tantalize and Eternal in a delicious dark fantasy her fans will devour.

Quincie Morris, teen restaurateur and neophyte vampire, is in the fight of her life — or undeath. Even as she adjusts to her new appetites, she must clear her best friend and true love, the hybrid-werewolf Kieren, of murder charges; thwart the apocalyptic ambitions of Bradley Sanguini, the seductive vampire-chef who “blessed” her; and keep her dead parents’ restaurant up and running. She hires a more homespun chef and adds the preternaturally beautiful Zachary to her wait staff. But with hundreds of new vampires on the rise and Bradley off assuming the powers of Dracula Prime, Zachary soon reveals his true nature — and his flaming sword — and they hit the road to staunch the bloodshed before it’s too late. Even if they save the world, will there be time left to salvage Quincie’s soul?

Friday, November 12, 2010

Nightstar Book Trailer


Nightstar is the fifth book in The Immortals series by Alyson Noel. Nightstar hits the shelves on Tuesday November 16th.
You can find more about these wonderful books here.
On Tuesday the release of Nightstar Alyson Noel is having a book siging, and I might go, if I go I will bring you guys a blurb about it and pictures so stay tuned!

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

ClockWork Angel Deleted Scene


A conversation between Tessa and Jem and more about Jem's relations between Britain and China during and after the Opium Wars.

There was a place in China," said Jem, "called the Yuanming Yuan. The Gardens of Perfect Brightness. It was an Imperial residence. My went there to vist the Emperor once, a sort of ambassadorial visit from the Nephilim. She said it was the most beautiful place she had ever been. There were exquisite gardens, paintings, music, beautiful pavilions. They called it 'the Garden of gardens.'" He looked out over the water. "Fifteen years ago the British tore it to the ground. Reprisals for something that happened during the Arrow War. They killed the guards, stole anything they thought they could sell, and set the palace on fire. It took three days to burn. There's nothing left of all that beauty now but silent stones and scorched earth."
"I'm sorry," Tessa told him, having no idea what else she could possibly say

Read the rest here.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

I recently got my copy of Nightshade by Andrea Cremer. I heard pure good reviews about it, so I just had to get my copy for my own. The next day the sequel's book cover was released, Wolfsbane. I loved it.

 
Which is your favorite cover?

Beautiful Darkness Documentary

The talented Kaleb Nation did a documentary about Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of Beautiful Creatures and Beautiful Darkness.

Part 1:


Click "read more" if Part 1 isn't showing up, it will work after clicking it.

Go Vote at Mundie Moms

Mundie Moms is having a contest for your favorite City of Fallen Angels Fan Cover.
Here is a sneak peek:


The first cover is my favorite, not only because it's Jensen Ackles from Supernatural but I just love the texture and coloring, though it's too much like the City of Bones cover. And the second it's good, but I'm not sure who it is. I'm going to guess Isabel.
Go vote here.
Which is your favorite?

In My Bookshelf (1)

In My Bookshelf is a weekly post where I'll post all the books I've gotten and are in my TBR list.




  1. Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
  2. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer